Cynthia Morrison Loses NPP Parliamentary Primary in Agona West

*Report by Joycelyn Adoma Arthur-14/04/2024

Cynthia Morrison, the incumbent MP for Agona West, has lost the New Patriotic Party parliamentary primary held on April 13.

Christopher Arthur emerged as the winner with 240 votes, while Cynthia Morrison received 152 votes.

Other candidates in the primary include Ben Yamoah with 221 votes, Yawson Otoo with 168 votes, and Joseph Afrankwa with 155 votes.

Supporters of Christopher Arthur were seen celebrating after the election.

The primary took place at the Otabilkrom Astroturf in Agona Swedru, with a single voting center.

Cynthia Morrison previously won the seat during the 2016 general elections. In that election, she obtained 32,770 votes out of the 56,878 votes cast, representing 58.03 percent of the total valid votes.

In the 2020 general election, she ran as the parliamentary candidate for the New Patriotic Party and was reelected for a second four-year term. She received 30,513 votes out of a total of 59,193 valid votes cast, defeating Paul Ofori-Amoah of the opposition National Democratic Congress, who received 27,673 votes, and Independent candidate Ishmael Kofi Tekyi Turkson, who received 1,007 votes.

leave a reply