Kwabena Boateng Emerges Victorious in NPP Ejisu Primary

Report by Pearl Amoako-14/04/2024

In a closely contested battle, Kwabena Boateng, the Second Vice Chairman for the Ejisu Constituency of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP), has emerged as the winner of the party’s parliamentary primary in the area.

The primary, held on April 13, 2024, saw Boateng secure a total of 394 votes, surpassing his closest rival, Helena Mensah, who garnered 302 votes.

The primary also saw Yaa Akyemaa Aboagye receive 229 votes, while former GFA President Kwesi Nyantakyi, despite being hospitalized prior to the polls, managed to secure 35 votes.

Dr. Evans Duah obtained 63 votes, Portia Acheampong Abronye secured six votes, and Klinsman Karikari Mensah, Aaron Prince Duah, and Jacqueline Abena Pokua Amoah-Boaitey received two votes, respectively.

A total of 1081 delegates participated in the primary, which aimed to select a candidate to represent the party in the upcoming by-election in the Ejisu Constituency.

The by-election was necessitated by the unfortunate passing of the incumbent Member of Parliament, John Kumah, on March 7, 2024.

Following the primary, the Electoral Commission has scheduled the Ejisu by-election for April 30, 2024. This will give the constituents an opportunity to choose their new representative in Parliament.

leave a reply